On July 6 in the Federal Register, the U.S. Department of Labor published proposed changes to the Fair Labor Standard Act’s white-collar exemptions. Under federal law, these include the following categories: executive, administrative, professional, outside sales and computer professional. The last is not recognized under some state laws, but remember that employees always get whichever is the more protective between federal and state laws.

In order for an employee to be exempt under the federal white-collar exemptions, there are generally three requirements:

1. Minimum Salary

This content has been archived. It is available through our partners, LexisNexis® and Bloomberg Law.

To view this content, please continue to their sites.

Not a Lexis Subscriber?
Subscribe Now

Not a Bloomberg Law Subscriber?
Subscribe Now

Why am I seeing this?

LexisNexis® and Bloomberg Law are third party online distributors of the broad collection of current and archived versions of ALM's legal news publications. LexisNexis® and Bloomberg Law customers are able to access and use ALM's content, including content from the National Law Journal, The American Lawyer, Legaltech News, The New York Law Journal, and Corporate Counsel, as well as other sources of legal information.

For questions call 1-877-256-2472 or contact us at [email protected]