For the third year, The American Lawyer and ALM are pleased to announce the winners of the Tony Mauro Media Lawyer Award, established in 2019 to honor attorneys who zealously advocate for freedom of the press.

The winners are Tom Leatherbury, partner at Vinson & Elkins in Dallas, for his dedication to the First Amendment and his leadership as director of the new First Amendment clinic at the Southern Methodist University’s Dedman School of Law; and The Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press, for its advocacy that resulted in a new policy at the U.S. Department of Justice limiting its ability to seize the records of journalists.