Several Ontario universities want to open law schools, but the government has said it will not fund any new ones.

Lakehead University in Thunder Bay, Laurentian University in Sudbury and Wilfrid Laurier University in Waterloo recently expressed interest in opening new law schools, but the provincial government has said it will not pay for any of them. The decision is a setback for the three schools and any others with hopes of offering a new legal education curriculum.