The Recorder has named Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe as California’s Litigation Department of the Year on the strength of its wins and a long list of disputed matters resolved successfully in favor of its clients. Named as finalists were Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher and Lieff Cabraser Heimann & Bernstein. Honorable mentions went to Morrison & Foerster and Munger, Tolles & Olson.

The Recorder on Friday also named winners and finalists for five practice specialities: intellectual property, securities, antitrust, labor & employment and product liability.

Orrick beat out 22 firms vying for recognition as California’s Litigation Department of the Year. In evaluating nominees, The Recorder considered wins secured by California-based practices between July 1, 2012 and June 30, 2013. In weighing each litigation result, Recorder staff considered the difficulty of the matter, its strategic or monetary value to the client, and how creative, efficient and effective the chosen litigation strategy proved to be; the editorial staff also considered the breadth and depth of each practice.

The full list of awards:

Litigation Department of the Year:

Winner: Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe

Finalists: Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher | Lieff Cabraser Heimann & Bernstein

Honorable Mention: Morrison & Foerster | Munger, Tolles & Olson

Intellectual Property:

Winner: Irell & Manella

Finalists: Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe | Morrison & Foerster

Labor & Employment:

Winner: Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe

Finalists: Morgan, Lewis & Bockius | Sheppard Mullin Richter & Hampton


Winner: Fenwick & West

Finalists: Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher | Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati


Winner: Latham & Watkins

Finalists: Lieff Cabraser Heimann & Bernstein | Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher

Product liability:

Winner: Morrison & Foerster

Finalists: Reed Smith | Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher

The honored legal departments will be recognized in a Dec. 9 special section published in The Recorder and at a Dec. 11 dinner in San Francisco.