Cassie Stinson, a shareholder in BoyarMiller in Houston
Cassie Stinson, a shareholder in BoyarMiller in Houston ()

New Positions

. . . Cassie Stinson has been named a shareholder in BoyarMiller in Houston. Her practice focuses on the commercial real estate industry, with emphasis on complex projects and multiparty transactions.

. . . Durham C. McCormick Jr. has joined McGuireWood in Houston as a partner in the tax and employee benefits department.

. . . Alex J. Bell, Melissa A. Warburton and Lisa M. Yerger have joined Fletcher, Farley, Shipman & Salinas as senior associates in Dallas. Neil P. Solomon has joined the firm as an asso­ciate in Austin.

. . . Arthur T. “Art” Carter has joined Littler Mendelson as a shareholder in Dallas.


. . . Lorina Rummel, an assistant district attorney for the Bexar County Criminal District Attorney’s Office in San Antonio and the family violence supervising prosecutor for the 379th District Court, has been appointed by Gov. Rick Perry as judge of the 144th Criminal District Court. The term expires at the next general election.

. . . Ernie McClendon, former Polk County attorney, has been appointed by the governor as judge of the 258th District Court, which serves Polk, San Jacinto and Trinity counties.

. . . Alicia Franklin, of the Law Offices of Alicia K. Franklin in Houston and a special magistrate for the Harris County District Family Courts, has been appointed by the governor as judge of the 311th District Court.


. . . Frank L. Branson, founder of the Law Offices of Frank L. Branson in Dallas, has been named president-elect of the Association of Plaintiff Interstate Trucking Lawyers of America.

. . . Tom Phillips, a partner in Baker Botts in Austin, has been elected to the Texas State Historical Association board of directors for a three-year term.

. . . Denis Braham, a shareholder in Winstead in Houston and chairman emeritus of the firm, has been elected chairman of the Jewish Federation of Greater Houston.


. . . Tom Melsheimer, managing principal of the Dallas office of Fish & Richardson, has been named the 2014 Trial Lawyer of the Year by the Texas chapters of the American Board of Trial Advocates.

. . . Jonathan Mitchell, Texas solicitor general; Andrew Oldham, deputy solicitor general; and Michael Murphy, James Sullivan and Douglas Geyser, assistant attorneys general, received the National Association of Attorneys General’s “Best Brief of the Year Award” for writing a brief challenging the Environmental Protection Agency’s greenhouse gas regulations. The brief was submitted to the U.S. Supreme Court on behalf of Texas, 11 other states and the Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality.